top of page

Teaching Tips Part 2: Decorating and Building Your Classroom (on a Budget)


Hello Teaching Friends!

This year will be my third year of teaching, but my first year in a new school. I've only got 13 days left before I officially meet my littles!

Anyways, if you're a new teacher, you've probably been freaking out a bit concerning how you'd like to decorate your room. You're not alone: I'm right there with you! It's so intimidating to walk into a team teacher's classroom, after feeling so accomplished about your own, and thinking "oh snap what the heck!"

Well today's all about designing your classroom and building personal libraries without breaking the bank. Don't worry, I'm not spouting out nonsense - these are tips I've actually implemented in decorating my own room.

Tip #1: Set your budget limit.

Sounds like something your financial advisor would say, right? Well it holds true in your finances as it does in your classroom. Some really good items (i.e. furniture) will probably run you up on cost. How much would you be willing to spend? Be realistic! This year, I have a budget of at least $100. I don't want to spend too much on my room, because I'm planning on filling it up with artwork from the kids, and my own teacher-made anchor charts. However, I do want the space to be inviting. One of my upcoming posts (once I'm done with my room) will be a room reveal, and we'll see if I stayed true to that budget goal.

Tip #2: Pick a theme or color scheme.

It's best to walk in with a plan. You've already set your budget, now what would you spend it on? Do you want a jungle theme, camping theme, or a Hollywood feel in your classroom? If you're not down for a theme, think color schemes. What's a nice, bright color you might consider using in your classroom? This decision would basically shape your purchases and actually help to keep you on track. Most of these themes (and more) can be found on Teachers Pay Teachers. Just search for the theme you have in mind, and hundreds of teacher-made theme packs will be available for purchase. You don't have to go all out and purchase something brand new from a school specialty store.

You're probably going "what do you mean color scheme?" For my room, I want to go with a black and white scheme, just because it saves on color ink, and (no joke) I can photocopy elements at school instead of constantly printing, and accent using black and white chevron. I'm also looking to use bulletin borders from my local school supply store, but only in three colors: yellow, blue, and pink. There will be a room reveal post as soon as I'm done, but for now, that's how it's going to be. For some really good ideas, you should definitely check this video on classroom decorating with Sheila Jane Teaching.

Tip #3: Take inventory of your own supplies (or your family's supplies!)

So you have your budget, and your theme. Now do you have things of your own that you can use in your classroom that'll fit with your plans? Instead of buying supply tubs or paper trays, do you have any containers at home you could use? How about that hanging multi-folder portfolio you bought oh-so-long ago and barely used? These are things you can use in the classroom, and the best part of it all is you don't have to spend cash on purchasing brand new ones.

For my personal library, I asked my mom if I could have all my childhood books, and whatever books she's bought over the years through the International Reading Association. It was amazing to read out loud my old books during story time, and my students enjoyed the anecdotes I had with each of these pieces.

Tip #4: Dollar stores are where it's at!

Found something while searching on Pinterest? For all you lucky folks with a Dollar Tree or Target in your area, you're definitely going to find some really good deals at really, really low prices (it'll help you keep to your budget!). For those of you who are like me and don't have a Dollar Tree or Target anywhere near you, there should be some really good dollar stores available. I shop there quite often, only because their supplies (i.e. supply tubs, dry/erase markers) are only $3 or less for a good quantity (and I don't have to pay double at a school specialty store to buy the same commodity). Pinterest is the best place I've found for any ideas I have - from

Tip #5: Don't knock off used items.

The old adage "one man's junk is another man's treasure" holds very, very true. You'd be surprised at what you can find off a garage sale, flea market, Craigslist, eBay, or even Facebook sales groups in your area. The thing to remember is always do price comparisons in order to get the best deal possible. First, find out how much the item will cost brand new (that's your baseline). Then, start searching, recording the absolute lowest you can find for that particular product (or something close to it). For example, I want to use floor mats this year in my room. After checking out my local K-Mart, I found it was on sale for $20 for 6 large mats. At a flea market sale, I found almost the same kind of floor mats for about $10.

It takes some time to find these items, and in case you can't find them right away, put a LTB (looking to buy) post and see what results come up. You just might inspire someone to get rid of their own for a good price.

However, always make sure you're looking for quality used products. Use good buying sense. You don't want to invest on an item that looks like it's holding on to its last thread of life. Since you're starting to build your classroom, you'd want items that will last for a good amount of time through the wear and tear of your students.

Tip #6: Building a library? Check your local and school libraries.

Usually, your local library may hold a book sale as part of their fundraising efforts. Take some time to check it out. You never know what's for sale, and I've seen some books go on sale for at least 25 cents. You can also look at your local library's policy on checking out books for long periods of time.

School libraries will also allow teachers to check out books. Just make sure to get a printout of all the books you've borrowed so it'll serve as a checklist on what you'll need to return later in the year.

Tip #7: Retiring teachers are the best resources.

During my first year of teaching, my room was BARE. Let's frame up the story first - I had entered the school system one month after school started. I was hired on a Thursday, met my principal on a Friday, and was told I would start on Monday after the weekend. I only had one day to go on a quick shopping spree with my mom to gather whatever I could, and come back on Saturday to decorate. It was chaotic!

Coincidently, one of my team teachers happened to be my former fourth grade teacher. She retired a month after I started, and specified that everything in her room (all supplies, decor...everything) was mine. I'm talking about TUBS of posters, border decorations, calendar numbers...oh my goodness everything.

To this day I still have the things she gave me, and over time other retiring teachers have helped me to build my library (though I had donated a lot of their books because they were more geared to upper-elementary students). The cycle of giving continues! So if you know of a teacher who's retiring, check them out!

Tip #8: Sometimes just DIY!

Again, I'm mentioning Pinterest (that's only because I am so in love with it). It was on Pinterest that I found out all the many uses of clothes pins. Hot gluing thumb tacks behind a clothes pin and using it to hold up student work as opposed to staples? Oh man that'll save you so much time when you have to clear out of a room at the end of the year! Plus they're so simple to make, and use very little resources.

If you're Powerpoint or Photoshop savvy, you can create your own classroom decor on your computer and print it out for use. Plus, it'll only cost for ink, paper, and lamination!

Also, look up on your school's policy of bulletin board paper uses. I've had one school that limited us to 12 yards in one year, and my most recent school had no limit. If there's no limit at your school, use the bulletin board paper to decorate your windows with curtains, or create cut-outs of pictures you can hang on your classroom walls.

Tip #9: Laminate using clear contact paper.

I found this neat hack from my mom. One day I was complaining that I couldn't find a good laminator on the cheap. Sure, the machines are available, but the constant laminating sheets you'd need to buy would kill my budget. Well, she simply replied "just use contact paper." I was undoubtly confused. So we headed to our local K-Mart, went down to the home decor aisle, and there it was: a whole roll of clear Contact-brand shelf paper.

The heavens opened and I was amazed. Plus, it cost me a good $12 for a roll, but one roll lasted me throughout my first year of teaching. And I was willing to pay $12 up front than having to pay for a machine + paper refills throughout the year. Though be forewarned: I've tried it out as a whiteboard, but it requires some thorough cleaning afterward, though there might be some streak marks left behind.

These are all the tips I have for now. A room reveal is in the works, and not just that, I'll share with you what I spent this year on my room. Take care!

-Bee

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page