top of page

Peer Editing Freebie...

Teaching students to edit in the writing process is pretty difficult, to say the least. Sometimes, you have students who are willing to find all the mistakes necessary. Oftentimes, you have students who aren't quite sure what to look for. When I taught 1st grade last year, I had some students who only looked for grammatical errors, other students who didn't know where to begin...uggghhh I just wanted to cry!

But that was last year! This upcoming school year, I'm throwing in something personal in the mix. I made these cute editing pencils for your students to use while peer-editing or self-editing their work.

It's written in kid-friendly language that gets them thinking and looking and with a checklist, they can start editing papers more effectively.

I have the questions written in 2 forms. The one you see on the left is actually the self-editing pencil. It allows for the student to look at all of their sentences for grammatical errors, and as they read the story, find if they have sequencing and if their sentences answer the 5Ws! I also have included in the pack a BW version of the pencils, as well as recording sheets.

So...you get 2 types of editing pencils in BW or Color...and 2 recording sheets...for free? YES! All I need is some feedback. The editing sheet is perfect for individual conferences with students, so you can gauge where they are in story construction. Hope it helps. Right now it's summer, so going to enjoy whatever sleep I can get in!

-Bee

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page